The Wait….

I look down in the mirror

My distraught image haunting me

My skin was just hanging on the bones

Despite the odds I never stopped

I never stopped running

I never stopped trying

I never stopped crying

I remember the last time I ever smiled

The sound of my own laughter sounds ghostly to me

The last time I’ve ever laughed was when he was by my side

I recall the estranged look on his face when he stepped out

Out of my home

Out of my life

The days that followed were pure horror

Pure misery

Never did I think a guy could throw me off balance

But I wasn’t the one

Whose world stopped because of a guy

I worked, I pushed , I trod on

My career reached new heights

Perhaps his abandonment ignited a fire of steady resolve

But again as the days rolled by I lost myself to the agony in me

The guts, valour, fortitude ebbing away

The world seemed distant, forlorn, glum,

I had lost myself……….

It was today he walked away from me

Probably because of me

I had been far too haughty to admit that

In spite of the career, the success, the name

I was still drowned in the tempest of my thoughts

The success…. the glory….

Meant nothing to me…….

I yearn, to smile again

I yearn, to fly again

All I could dream was him

Standing by my side….Guiding me

Both through gates of heaven and hell…..

I look down in the mirror again

My face is lit with the luminescence of thousand stars

The face in the mirror wiped out my sufferings

My man…had come for me..

It took us a year……

To realize we were “two pods in a pea”….

As we looked into the mirror again

We realized……..

High wins or low falls in life,

Were always crossed better,

With a loved one by your side.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment